skip to content

IT Help and Support

University Information Services
 

The Password Management application lets you change your Raven password (used for Exchange Online and other Microsoft services and Employee Self-Service, amongst other things). You can also view your change history log, and control who can reset your password for you if you forget it.

How to change your password

  1. Go to the Raven Password Management page: https://password.raven.cam.ac.uk
  2. If you are already logged in to Raven, click the Your page> button.
    If you are not already logged in to Raven, click the Log In> button.
    Note: If you can't log in to Raven, follow the procedure for forgotten passwords.
  3. Click the Change password> button. 
    This will open the Change your password page.
  4. Enter your current Raven password.
    Note: if you still have different passwords for Raven and Desktop Services, use your Raven password.
  5. Think of a new password, and enter it in the New password field. 
    We recommend you use your existing Hermes password, if you know it. Otherwise, you must remember to update your email client's account settings to use the new password you will create here. 
     

    Using the built-in password generator tool

    If you click the Generate a random password link shown below the New password field, you will see a truly random password suggestion. You can copy and paste it into the new password field if you want to use it, or click the Generate another random password link to get another suggestion: 
    Screenshot of the Random Password Generator
    The strength of your new password will be shown as you type. We recommend using a password with a rating of 'Very strong':

    Screenshot of a weak password 
    07 App Password Srength Strong
     

  6. Enter your new password again in the Confirm password field, to confirm it.
  7. Click the Change password button to save it.
    You will see a confirmation message showing which of your passwords have just been updated:

    ss passwordChange

     Note: If you joined the University before 18 February 2014, changing any one of your individual passwords for Raven or Desktop Services will synchronise all three accounts to use the unified Raven password. 

    You can review a log of the changes made to your password by clicking the History tab on your account management page.
     

 

Note: The password change may take up to 30 minutes to take effect. Most email programs will stop getting new mail as soon as your new Raven password becomes active, but in some cases the change may not be noticeable until you close the email program or restart your device.

Last updated: July 2022

UIS Service Desk

Phone padded  Service status line: (01223 7)67999
Website  Sign up for SMS/email status alerts
Website  Read major IT incident reports

UIS bITe-size bulletin

A regular newsletter aimed at the University's IT community, highlighting service and project news from UIS.

Sign up >

Latest news

macOS Ventura release

30 September 2022

Apple will soon be releasing macOS Ventura. Following its release, they will drop support for macOS Catalina (10.15). All users running macOS Catalina are encouraged to upgrade to one of the following supported operating systems: macOS Ventura (when released) macOS 12 Monterey (compatible computers: https://support.apple...

Change to display names in Lookup from 06 October 

30 September 2022

What is happening From 06 October, UIS will be updating the Display name records in Lookup to use people’s Preferred first name initials. This supports a user-friendly move toward using everyone’s preferred names, rather than their Registered name. If you have personally set your own Display name in Lookup, you will not be...

Streaming Media Service: transcoding temporarily suspended

26 September 2022

We have temporarily suspended the transcoding of media uploaded to the Streaming Media Service (SMS) while we undertake some remedial work. Please do not try to upload new media to the SMS at this time. Transcoding of media already uploaded to the SMS will continue once the work is complete. This work does not affect...