skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Staff leaving the University

University computing accounts are normally cancelled shortly after UIS becomes aware that staff have left Cambridge. Since summer 2013, leavers' Raven accounts have been retained, giving continued access to the University Lookup Directory so they can update their contact details.

How do we know you've left?

This information might have been gathered:

  • from a data feed from the University HR system, CHRIS
  • from information supplied by your institution, either at the time that the person was first registered with UIS, or later
  • from information supplied by the user either at the time of registration or later
  • because accounts are – or appear to be – unused.
     

How much warning will I get before my account is deactivated?

Leavers are normally sent a warning email before cancellation actually happens. You will have about a month to tidy up your accounts. 

In exceptional circumstances, accounts may be cancelled at very short notice, if, for example, they are causing a problem or if an institution specifically requests cancellation.

What if I need to request a short term extension to my account?

See: Short Term Account Extensions for Staff, Postdocs and Certain Research Students

What happens when I retire?

It is normal practice to allow retiring staff who are receiving a University or College pension to keep their Information Services' accounts.

This is subject to the usual conditions, and that the accounts are for personal use only. For details, follow the appropriate link in the email warning of cancellation.