skip to primary navigationskip to content

What happens to my University Microsoft account when I leave Cambridge?

Your University of Cambridge Microsoft account access will expire 30 days after your current staff/student status has been revoked in our user administration system. You should plan to act before you leave Cambridge to ensure you do not lose any of your data.

When will my University Microsoft account expire?

It is difficult to be precise about this. Once your current staff/student status has been revoked in the user adminstration system your Microsoft account will be flagged for closure. This may or may not coincide with the closure of your UIS computing accounts.

     Once your Microsoft account has been flagged for closure, you will have 30 days read-only access to data associated with your University Microsoft account. After 90 days, your data will be deleted from the Microsoft server, and cannot be recovered.


OneDrive for Business filestore

You are responsible for transferring the data stored on your University of Cambridge OneDrive for Business filestore to another storage solution, if you want to keep it. You will not be able to link your University OneDrive to a new personal subscription after you leave Cambridge.

Office 365 files

You will need a licence to continue to work on any Office 365 files that you have kept on a local device. You must either purchase your own Microsoft subscription which will grant you a new personal Office 365 licence, or open your files with a licensed copy of the relevant Microsoft desktop application.

SharePoint Online

If you had access to a Univeristy SharePoint Online site and still require access in order to collaborate in a new role outside the University, you can ask the site's administrator to add you as a user via another Microsoft account, e.g. a personal one, or one from a new employer.