skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Staying in University but downgrading to a Personal account

This video is also available to view on the Streaming Media Service (SMS): https://sms.cam.ac.uk/media/2475320.

Only you can tell us that you want to change your Dropbox Business account to a Personal Dropbox account, even if someone else paid for it.  

Downgrading it to a Personal account means your University Dropbox account won't be managed by the University anymore. 

To do this you need to remove your account from the Cambridge University 'team' in the Self-Service Gateway.

Your Dropbox account will be downgraded to a free Personal Basic account.

When this happens you need to:

  1. create a new password

  2. change the email address associated with your Dropbox account to another email address you own

Your free Dropbox account will no longer be managed by University Information Services.

Please note that if your Dropbox account is over the free quota then file syncing will stop. Files will not be removed, but syncing won't resume until you bring your account under quota again. See Dropbox's website for details on the current quota for free basic accounts and the costs of increasing the quota.

You should contact Dropbox directly for technical support or questions.

UIS Service Status

Phone padded  Service status line: (01223) 463085
Website padded  Sign up for SMS/email status alerts

Getting help


UIS Service Desk
General support queries

  Phone padded  (01223 7) 62999

UAS Service Desk
Administrative staff queries

  Phone padded  (01223 3) 32999

Other IT service desks