skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Leaving Cambridge

Important information to understand about what happens to your Microsoft account when you leave the University.

What happens when you leave the University

Your Microsoft account will expire 30 days after the University closes your UIS computing account. When that happens, you won't be able to use the software you downloaded using your University account.

What about your Office 365 files?

Any files you have on your personal devices can be opened in Read Only mode, or in normal mode using with a licensed version of the Microsoft software. To continue using your files, you will either need to buy your own Microsoft subscription, or be able to access them with licensed software (e.g. with another Mocrosoft account through an employer).

What about the stuff on your OneDrive?

When your University of Cambridge account expires, you won't be able to access anything you left on your OneDrive for Business cloud filestore. Make sure you transfer all your files to another storage device or cloud-based filestore before you leave Cambridge.