skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

FAQ: Will my EndNote Library disappear when I leave Cambridge? I have a Student version of the program.

FAQ V29

If you have a student license for EndNote desktop, you will be required to uninstall the program from your personal machine when you leave. This will not affect your libraries, any more than uninstalling Word would cause your documents to disappear.

If you wish to continue to use the library, we would recommend purchasing a full version of the software via Bilaney Consultants. This will be able to open any libraries which you created using the student version.

VERY IMPORTANT: If you were originally storing your EndNote libraries inside the EndNote program folder it is vital that you move them to your Documents folder before removing EndNote. Take care to transfer both the Library ".enl" and the Data ".DATA" parts. It is advisable to save a second backup copy in compressed library format. If you do not understand these recommendations, contact us for advice.

You should uninstall the student program (using the uninstall command from the EndNote customizer menu), rather than simply deleting it, to avoid conflicts when you install your newly purchased version.

If you were using EndNote Online, rather than the student version of EndNote Desktop, your account will remain active for 12 months after you last accessed it from a University machine. After this period it will revert to the un-enhanced version. Your files will still be available, but you will not have access to the full range of connections and styles.

The Computing Service runs a course on basic use of EndNote each term (see Endnote for Bibliographies courses). If you need further help, or if you can't attend the course and would like a copy of the course workbook, email 

 

Last updated: August 2015