skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Archiving your Hermes email using Thunderbird

The Thunderbird email program, which is available for MacOS X, Windows and Linux, allows you to archive your Hermes email in a straightforward manner. This could be useful if you are about to leave Cambridge and wish to take all your email with you on your own computer.

Thunderbird is free to download and use, and is available from its own website.

Once you have installed Thunderbird, you need to configure it to access your Hermes account

Once you have configured Thunderbird to access Hermes you should see your Hermes mail folders on the left hand side. These folders are stored on Hermes and therefore will not be accessible once your Hermes account is cancelled. Underneath the Hermes mail folders you will see something called 'Local Folders'. Local folders are stored on the hard drive of your own machine.

To save all your email from Hermes:

  1. Under 'Local Folders' re-create the folder structure that you have in Hermes. For example if you have a Received folder in Hermes, create a Received folder under 'Local Folders'.
  2. To copy the contents of the Hermes Received folder to the Received folder you created under 'Local Folders'
    1. Select all the messages in your Hermes Received folder;
    2. Right click on the selected messages and choose Copy to -> Local Folders -> Received.
  3. You need to do this create-and-copy for each of your individual Hermes mail folders.

When your Hermes account is cancelled you will still have the mail from Hermes located under 'Local Folders'. It is worth doing a final save just before your account is closed so that any new messages are saved - particularly the ones in your Hermes Inbox.

If you have a Gmail account you can also configure Thunderbird to access that too. To do this, follow the instructions on the Thunderbird website.

Please note that if you download your emails to your local hard drive, you need to arrange to back up your hard drive on a regular basis so that, if it fails, you do not lose all your data/emails etc..