Apple Mail comes with all versions of the Mac OS X operating system. You can archive your emails into Apple Mail just before your Hermes email account is scheduled to be cancelled.
Configuration instructions for Apple Mail to access your Hermes email account are available.
Note: Apple Mail ver. 6.6 was used to prepare the instructions below. Other versions of Apple Mail will also work, but there may be some slight variations.
Once you have configured Apple Mail to access Hermes, you should see your Hermes mail folders on the left hand side. These folders are stored on Hermes and therefore will not be accessible once your Hermes account is cancelled. To take your mail with you, you will need to create mail folders which are stored on your own computer.
To save all your email from Hermes:
- First, from Mailbox menu option, select New Mailbox and re-create the folder structure that you have in Hermes using the On My Mac location. For example if you have a Received folder in Hermes, create a Received folder under On My Mac.
- To copy the contents of the Hermes Received folder to the Received folder you created under ‘On My Mac'
- Select all the messages in your Hermes Received folder;
- From the Message menu option, select Copy to and select the Received folder under On My Mac.
- You need to do this create-and-copy for each of your individual Hermes mail folders. If you are doing this just before you leave and no longer need a copy kept on Hermes you can drag-and-drop the messages from the Hermes folder to the 'On My Mac' folder.
When your Hermes account is cancelled you will still have the mail from Hermes located under 'On My Mac'. It is worth doing a final save just before your account is closed so that any new messages are saved - particularly the ones in your Hermes Inbox.
If you have a Gmail account you can also configure Apple Mail to access that.
Please note that if you download your emails to your local hard drive, you need to arrange to back up your hard drive on a regular basis so that, if it fails, you do not lose all your data/emails etc..